5th Grade General Research: Home

National Geographic Kids includes articles on a variety of topics--science, history, places, animals, and more! Also eBooks.
(Open Athens log in with Collegiate username and password)

Search Gale In Context: Middle School for age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, and primary sources.
(Open Athens log in with Collegiate username and password)

Search for library resources here.

Descriptions of and links to all of the databases to which Collegiate subscribes.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Scholastic GO! includes resources for research in a multitude of media. Explore nonfiction texts, world newspapers, videos, and more.
To access off-campus use:
username: collegiateva
password: cougar1

School Access ID: collegiateva
School Passcode: cougar1

User Name: collegiate1
Password: cougar

Tutorials on how to make most anything.

How Products Are Made explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery. The site provides step by step descriptions of the assembly and the manufacturing process (complemented with illustrations and diagrams) Each product also has related information such as the background, how the item works, who invented the product, raw materials that were used, product applications, by-products that are generated, possible future developments, quality control procedures, etc.

"Unbiased, reliable, easy-to-understand answers and explanations of how the world actually works."

Wikiquote is a free online compendium of sourced quotations from notable people and creative works in every language, translations of non-English quotes, and links to Wikipedia for further information.

epic! is a great resource for non-fiction eBooks. Ask your teacher for their class code so you can log in and begin using epic! books. If you don't have a class code, you can use this general Library Class Code: lcj1113

SORA provides access to a large collection of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and comics. You can link to Collegiate's account, as well as, public libraries, if you have a library card.

Biography.com is home to more than 3,000 profiles of well-known, notable, and lasting figures. Includes current and historical figures, as well as athletes, actors, musicians, scientists, and innovators from every discipline.

Biographies of famous people

Historical biographies written for kids. Learn the life story and biography of influencial people: US Presidents, World Leaders, Inventors, Women, Artists, Athletes, and More!!

Various player biographies from different sports.

Wikiquote is a free online compendium of sourced quotations from notable people and creative works in every language, translations of non-English quotes, and links to Wikipedia for further information.

Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Click on “Sign in with Google” to save documents, citations, and highlights to your Google Drive.

The Decades series features long overviews and short entries discussing people and companies; books, films, and plays; products and technological advances; elections and political movements; and other important topics representative of each decade.
Access with password: cscougars (Needs to be all lowercase)

provides detailed essays on significant events throughout world history, covering everything from ancient times to the present day, with each essay offering a comprehensive overview of the event, its historical significance, key figures involved, and further reading suggestions.
Access with password: cscougars (Needs to be all lowercase)

Find other LibGuides by clicking this link. Some LibGuides are topical and others are related to specific assignments, but you my find something useful for your research.