LibGuides: Civil War: Home

Sample Print Resources

Search the Library Catalog in order to find useful books. Here is a sampling of topical books housed in the Library:

An Illustrated History Of The Civil War by William J. Miller
Call Number: 973.7 M652
A Savage Thunder by Jim Murphy
Call Number: 973.7 M978
American Heritage History Of The Battle Of Gettysburg by Craig L. Symonds
Call Number: 973.7 S988
Under Siege! by Andrea Warren
Call Number: 973.7 W286

NoodleTools

NoodleTools
You can use NoodleTools to create your notecards, outline, and bibliography.
Use your Collegiate email address to sign in under "Access via G Suite" and then select "Sign in with Google."
NoodleTools - "Guide To Making Bibliographies"
NoodleTools - "Guide To Note Cards, Outlines, Sharing & Collaboration""

DATABASE Sources: "Encyclopedias"

Use each Encyclopedia to get an overview of your topic:

Encyclopedia Americana
Encyclopedia Britannica
Username: collegiateva
Password: cougar1
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
World Book Encyclopedia
User: collegiate1
Password: cougar
Click on "Advanced"

DATABASE Sources: "History" & "Biography"

War and Terrorism Collection
password: schools
U.S. History In Context
Password: schools

more... less...

"U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today."
American National Biography
User Name: collegiateva
Password: cougar1

more... less...

"The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation."
Annals Of American History
User Name: collegiateva
Password: cougar1

more... less...

"Explore the rich and varied history of the United States through speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images, and multimedia."
Biography In Context
Password: schools

more... less...

"Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography."
Oxford African-American Studies Center
Choose Find your institution, and find Collegiate.

more... less...

"The Oxford African-American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture."
Salem History Online
Password: cscougars

more... less...

"Access the online editions of Decades in America, Great Events from History, and Great Lives from History."

General "Civil War" WEBSITES

Civil War
This website offers overviews of most aspects of the Civil War.
Civil War Trust
This website offers the latest Civil-War preservation news, battle maps for most major battles, history articles and photos.
The Civil War Homepage
This website is "...one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of Civil War related material available on the Internet."
"Index Of Civil War Information Found On The Internet"
As its name denotes, this site offers an exhaustive listing, subdivided by topic, of online resources dedicated to the Civil War.
"Home Of The American Civil War"
This website offers a compendium of useful information.
American Civil War Story: Civil War Quotes
As the website states, "...there are many famous people who stand out when one studies the Civil War, and most of them had something interesting to say. This is the place to find and share some of those interesting quotations."
Civil War Animated Maps
This website offers twenty-one animated maps of various battles.
Animated Maps: Battles In Action
This "...collection of animated maps bring battles of the American Civil War to life, complete with troop movement animations, narratives, video, and more."
Civil War Battle Summaries By State
This website provides brief, informative summaries of most of the Civil War's battles.
Virginia Chronicle
This website offers access to a massive collection of scanned newspapers from both Virginia and West Virginia: over 47,000 issues in the date range 1841-1999.
Chronicling America
This website provides access to a huge collection of digitized American newspapers: thousands of pages, from over 1100 newspapers nationwide, in the date range 1836-1922.