LibGuides: Resource Roundup: The School &amp; The City: From the Archive

Welcome to the Julia A. Williams Archive & Study Center

The Julia A. Williams Archives & Study Center was established in 2014 and housed in the Saunders Family Library in the Sharp Academic Commons. Named after a beloved teacher and administrator, the Julia A. Williams Archives & Study Center is dedicated to identifying, collecting, and preserving materials related to the school's more than 100-year history.

For more information or to help us tell this story, please contact Benjamin Lamb at ben_lamb@collegiate-va.org

READ THIS FIRST

Performing a Keyword Search on Google Drive PDFs
Performing a keyword search allows you to locate parts of a work most relevant to your research. This brief tutorial shows you how to perform a keyword search within the books and archival materials included in this LibGuide.

From the Archive

Fifty Years Of Collegiate: Echoes From 1915 To 1965 by The Collegiate Historian Society, Alumnae, Alumni, and Friends of the School (1968)
Digitized edition of Fifty Years of Collegiate. Published in 1967, Fifty Years of Collegiate was researched, compiled, and written by the Collegiate History Society led by Jon Perel and members of the class of '67.
The Collegiate School, 1915-2015: 100 Years, text by Nancy Wheeler ; edited by Elizabeth Woodroof Cogar '77 and Haley Whipple Nolde '92 (2015)
Digitized edition of The Collegiate School, 1915-2015: 100 Years. Published to mark the school's centennial, 100 Years charts Collegiate's history, traditions, development, and growth. Features hundreds of photographs and documents from the Julia A. Williams Archive & Study Center.
Pomp and Personality by Elizabeth Woodruff Cogar '77 (2000)
Article surveying Collegiate's many traditions from the Winter 2000 issue of The Spark.

The Collegiate School for Girls in the City ot Richmond, 1133 Franklin Street, West, 1916-1917
This catalog for The Collegiate School for Girls in the City of Richmond's 1916-1917 session provides a snapshot of the school in its second year. It outlines the school's mission and policies, and identifies the many women responsible for running this all girls school in downtown Richmond.

The Year Book of the Collegiate School for Girls in the City of Richmond, 1917
Digitized edition of the Collegiate School for Girls' first yearbook. Published in 1917, the leather-bound annual featured a sketch of the origin and second year of the school, class information (like motto, flower, and colors) and student literary works, and colorful illustration plates. A second volume would not appear until 1923.

"Out With the Old" by Virginia Brent and Pat Culpepper
Overview of Collegiate student publications published in the February 1959 issue of The Match.
The Match, Vol. 1, No. 1 (March, 1946)
The fourth and most enduring of Collegiate’s school newspapers, The Match began its nearly 60 year print run as a staple-bound, printed typescript in March of 1946. Published months after the end of World War II, the inaugural issue documents the paper’s humble origins in Miss Duncan’s grammar classroom and features a capsule history of the school’s publications alongside a sports news, student literary works, and blind gossip items. Though the format, content, and level of sophistication changed several times over the years, The Match remains a useful and interesting resource for viewing the shifting social and cultural landscape of late-20th and early-21st century.
The Match, Vol. 62, No. 7 (May 25, 2007)
The final print issue of The Match is a glossy, ad-supported, 24-page affair that surveys the breadth of the Collegiate experience near the end of the first decade of the 21st century. The paper transitioned to a web-only publication that continues today.

Register of Graduates, Collegiate School for Girls, Richmond, Virginia (1931)
1931 Register of Graduates collects the names of the first 15 years of Collegiate Graduates.
Alumnae News, The Collegiate Schools (1963)
1963 issue of the Alumnae News provides a glimpse of the newly-minted Collegiate Schools which consolidated the Town School on Richmond's Monument Avenue with the co-educational County Day School on River Road in the fall of 1960. This publication evolved into its current incarnation, The Spark

Resource Roundup: The School & The City

Ask Mr. Lamb

Click to Schedule an Appointment

Welcome to the Julia A. Williams Archive & Study Center

READ THIS FIRST

From the Archive