Last Updated: Jan 31, 2017
When searching online and in databases, use quotation marks to search an exact phrase.
Use the search strings: site:.edu and site:.gov in your web searches to find reliable and scholarly resources. (Also consider site:.org)
For example, if you want only sites that include the phrase "Chickahominy Tribe" with a .edu address, your search should look like this:
"chickahominy tribe" site:.edu
- Chickahominy Tribe
- Dungannon, Virginia
- Jackson Ward, Richmond, Virginia
- Osborne's Ford, Virginia
- Scott County, Virginia
- Shenandoah National Park
- Tangier Island, Virginia
These websites may include information related to your specific topics.
- Chickahominy Indian Tribe
This site is maintained by the Chickahominy Tribe and includes information about the tribe's history and leadership.
- Chronicling America
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress."
- Encyclopedia Virginia
Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia. A project of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities (VFH) in partnership with the Library of Virginia, EV publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, edited to be accessible to a general audience, and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips, and links to Google Street View tours of historic sites.
- National Parks Service
The National Parks Service website has a wealth of information related to parks and historic landmarks.
- Virginia Chronicle
"The Library of Virginia offers access to a wide array of resources for researching newspapers, from its broad collection of over 2,500 titles, in original ink press copy, on microfilm, and in digital format through the Library's web based repository, Virginia Chronicle."
- Virginia Memory
"Virginia Memory is part of the online presence of the Library of Virginia, the state archives and reference library. The Library maintains vast and varied collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art that tell the history of the commonwealth and its people."
Begin your search here to get an overview of your topic. Think about search terms you can use in other databases as you read encyclopedia articles.
These databases will connect you with local history resources. Local history includes the study of communities in a geographical context with a focus on the cultural and social aspects of history.
- Diversity Studies Collection
"The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily."
Search for articles, news, and more using a single search box.
- Historical Newspapers--New York Times
Full access to the digitized New York Times, 1851-2013.
- U.S. History In Context
"U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people."
- Complete list of Collegiate databases
Click here to see a complete list of Collegiate databases.